MDB Viewer Download Buy Now Also available on the
Mac App Store

MDB Viewer requires OS X 10.6 or later. The free trial is fully functional except for export limitations.
© 2011-2017 Jakob Egger

Apr 26, 2016 ★★★★★

Easy!

Highly recommended for light data. Thanks!

Bykemut

review for Version 2.2.5 from Mac App Store Malaysia

Apr 05, 2016 ★★★★

Works Great

Works Great! Product description is accurate, program is clean, fast, and easy to use. 4 stars because it’s rather pricey. It’s a viewer, not an editor...

ByGingy22

review for Version 2.2.5 from Mac App Store Canada

Dec 23, 2015 ★★★★

хорошо сделана

Единственная программа, которая позаолила выгрузить данные в SQLite без ошибок и корректно распознав типы полей. Стояла задача выгрузить данные из древней базы MS Access в которой поля бы ли именованы по-русски, таблиц около 30, с данными 5-15 тысяч в каждой. Программа справилась на отлично. Еще отмечу, что работает быстро (пробовал некоторые другие). Ставлю 4 звездочки, не 5 потому что хотелось бы гибкой настройки выгружаемых полей.

ByElOtro

review for Version 2.2.5 from Mac App Store Russia

Oct 15, 2015 ★★★★★

Indispensable pour récuperer sous Mac les fichiers Mdb

Remarquable tout simplement : J’ai pu sans problème récupérer un gros travail fait en 2000, sous Access, dans l’environnement Windows XP !! Tout est passé sous Excel sans anicroche et en toute simplicité. Pour info : je suis sous environnement El Capitan, en bêta de surcroit, et je travaille avec Office 2016. Donc impeccable. Ne pas tenir compte de l’avis indiquant que la récupération des vieux fichiers Mdb ne se fait pas. Manifestement, la nouvelle version a corrigé cela. Excellent rapport qualité / prix donc, vu l’ampleur du travail récupéré. Merci au développeur.

ByAloévera

review for Version 2.2.5 from Mac App Store France

Jul 23, 2014 ★★★★★

Fantastic App!

As one may imagine, there aren't a lot of reasons a mac user would be looking to actively work with MDB files. However, I have a client who wanted a legacy Access database converted to a MySQL based web application. It was an "old version of Access" - the client had no idea, and the current version of Access wouldn't open it up. I downloaded this app to see if I could at least view the data. I saw the "export as SQL" feature but honestly I haven't had much luck with those in the past - especially from MS applications.

Well, I can say this was worth probably twice what it costs. It opened the 150MB .mdb file in about two seconds, and exported it to a full MySQL dump in about 3 minutes. I imported the resulting SQL file into MySQL with no errors, no data loss, and from what I can tell all data types/keys in place. Well done!

Kmulf

review for Version 2.2.5 from Mac App Store United States

Apr 03, 2014 ★★★★★

Perfect

Just perfect, did EXACTLY what it said it would and better yet, exactly what I needed it to. Thanks

Jharder22

review for Version 2.2.5 from Mac App Store United States

Nov 30, 2013 ★★★★★

Good

A database with filename extension “accdb” was converted into SQLite successfully by MDB ACCDB Viewer.
I believe it deserves its price.

Magic Kyle

review for Version 2.2.5 from Mac App Store China

Nov 06, 2013 ★★★★

Super Produkt

Schnelle Konvertierung und auch bei mehr als 65’000 Zeilen in einer Tabelle, bei mir problemlos möglich.

WYK65

review for Version 2.2.5 from Mac App Store Switzerland

Oct 06, 2013 ★★★★

Did what I needed it to do.

I don't have access, but needed to read, sort and search an access database file. I bought the program and within five minutes of installing it had used it to open the Access database, save it as an Excel worksheet, then opened the Excel worksheet with Filemaker Pro 12. FMP instantly converted it into a FMP data base, and I sorted it by date (the date conventions worked) and found what I needed.

It was worth the $18 to me on a Saturday night at 11pm!

I wish I had a more complete solution to work with Access datafiles on the Mac, but you take what you can get.

My thanks to the developers of MDB ACCDB Viewer.

AvroClunk

review for Version 2.2.5 from Mac App Store Canada

Sep 11, 2013 ★★★★★

Don't waste time with cheap imitations

THANK YOU. This app is a VIEWER, and helped me export my files to a more friendly format since I don't use Access anymore. I tried a cheaper app, but didn't work. This app was lightening fast and all of my data came through beautifully. I don't really know that I will use the app frequently, but since it did exactly what I needed it to do, I am able to enthusiastically recommend it.

Gadget Novice 148

review for Version 2.2.5 from Mac App Store United States

Aug 28, 2013 ★★★★★

This app is a God send...

From time to time I get the request to convert an Access database to a web application. It's always been a royal pain to keep an Access license handy + Windows license so I can run Virtualbox or Parallels to get at it. Then, pulling the data out and transferring it was equally time consuming. None of it was rocket science but given that I'm not a fan of Access to begin with, I JUST WANT THE DATA OUT. This app does exactly what I needed…gives me the database tables and lets me export them in several formats. Loving it.

Also, had one issue with the export of a table. Contacted the developer and had a response same day. Turned out that the exact issue had been addressed by the 2.2.5 update and I was running 2.2.4. Thankful for the quick response and that my problem was already addressed. I'm a fan.

Keenehockey

review for Version 2.2.5 from Mac App Store United States

Aug 28, 2013 ★★★★

同種アプリの中で、Unicodeの扱いが最もまとも

他のアプリも色々と試したが、日本語や中国語を含むAccessデータをきちんと表示できたのは、これだけだった。比較的高めの値段ではあるが、それだけの価値は十分にあると思う。また、ファイルコンバータとしての機能もシンプルで使いやすい。あとは、ビューワとしての使い勝手をもう少し向上させてくれたら完璧。

Astral_flakes

review for Version 2.2.5 from Mac App Store Japan

Aug 21, 2013 ★★★★★

MySQL Export

Works great for viewing data, however when it comes to exporting into MySQL it's rather lacking. It produces chunk inserts (where it inserts the entire contents of a table in one insert as opposed to many), however there is no way to control this. It's all-or-nothing and in all of my uses I could not load the resulting SQL file into MySQL due to max_allowed_packet being exceeded. Increasing this value is not an option so the ability to control this prior to export would be the only way to make it useful. If it weren't for this, I would give the app 5 stars.

App Addicted2

review for Version 2.2.5 from Mac App Store United States

Jul 22, 2013 ★★★★★

Works as advertised. No issues.

Installed to view large .mdb files with 20+ tabes of up to 4,000 rows each. Program displays well, search and export functions all work well.

JSConsult

review for Version 2.2.3 from Mac App Store United States

May 15, 2013 ★★★★★

Works perfectly!

Obviously if you have a VM with Windows Access and need to view / select / edit Access files, then you don't need this tool. But if you have a Mac and simply need to view Access data, and/or need to convert Access data to another database format quickly and easily, this tool is it. And the price couldn't be better.

Out of the blue I had to convert a fairly large Access db to SQLite. I toyed with the idea of writing a quick converter, but decided to check online first. Found this gem and had it converted in minutes. It saved me time and was well worth the cost.

DTaylor714

review for Version 2.2.3 from Mac App Store United States

May 09, 2013 ★★★★★

It ok in a pinch but not a tool to depend on. Has potential.

Be nice to query select data (joins) and see table schemas (type/lengths). If you need to simply view the contents of a table, then this works fine. Price vs value a bit off but my opinion is based on only 5 minutes of usage. The time it takes to export to a file and do analysis is the same as loading my vmware copy of Windows/Access and hit the data directly.

LouieAvila

review for Version 2.2.3 from Mac App Store United States

Apr 22, 2013 ★★★★★

Great App

A client has an ancient website that uses classic ASP and a local Access database, and since I've moved to Mac I used to have to fire up my old laptop to view any of the data. I had been flapping about how to send him a table export this morning, but after a quick search this looked to be just the ticket. A quick install later, and within 2 minutes I had exported a CSV, converted this in Google Docs and sent it to him as an XLSX doc. Superb!

RJK1974

review for Version 2.2.3 from Mac App Store Great Britain

Mar 29, 2013 ★★★★★

Great Customer Service

I have been using this product to migrate a variety of Access dbs to .csv files. When I hit a 'problem' database (which turned out to be in the ancient Access 2.0 format) the developer very quickly converted it for me. Great customer service.

Howard Fraser

review for Version 2.2.3 from Mac App Store Australia

Feb 01, 2013 ★★★★★

Did what I needed it to do

Worked like a charm, otherwise would have needed to recreate 377 records of data.

Jalh3

review for Version 2.2 from Mac App Store United States

Jan 31, 2013 ★★★★★

Fa quel che deve e lo fa bene...

Come molti mi ritrovo spesso a manipolare file di Access, ovviamente per portarli verso altri formati, lontani da quel dinosauro che un tempo era un database ed oggi è uno zombie ;)
Dopo aver provato altre soluzioni simili, sempre con qualche problema, ho trovato in questa ciò che cercavo, una semplice e pulita accessibilità ai dati e la possibilità di portarli in formati più utili e maneggevoli.
Da notare che apre benissimo anche archivi che nelle intenzioni di chi li ha creati avrebbero dovuto essere protetti da combinazioni di accesso vincolate e che in ambiente Win costringerebbero a modifiche dell'origine dati o altri espedienti, qui invece semplicemente si aprono… in questo modo mi sono liberato dell'odiosa macchina virtuale Win che mi serviva solo per accedere a database Access.
Sarei disposto a pagare anche di più se una futura release avesse la possibilità di vedere almeno un minimo di struttura tra tabelle ed eseguire almeno una semplice query precedente all'esportazione.

Roberto MDA

review for Version 2.2 from Mac App Store Italy

Jan 09, 2013 ★★★★★

Excellent tool

This tool is excellent and most suitable for those who have to work with MS-Access files from their Mac.
It does not only offers you to view MS-Access tables but also to convert them into SQL (PostgreSQL, MySQL, SQLite).
This saves you from starting MS-Access on a Windows PC and helps you to transfer the data to professional databases systems.
I bought an early version and keep it up-to-date because it saves me lot of time.

Andrejjh

review for Version 2.2 from Mac App Store Belgium

Dec 16, 2012 ★★★★

İyi bir uygulama

Hata vermeden tabloları görüntüleyebiliyor. Bu bile büyük bir kazanç. Keşke kendi içinde query yapabilen uygulamalar da olabilse. İlişkili tablolar olduğunda bir tablodan öbürüne koşup durmak gerekiyor.

Zynxth

review for Version 2.1 from Mac App Store Turkey

Dec 05, 2012 ★★★★★

Very useful app +++

….YES! Multiple table exports are now supported.

Does the job very well. Excellent speed on large db's >1g...! Also great support….!!!

Zr0s

review for Version 2.1 from Mac App Store Canada

Nov 28, 2012 ★★★★★

Easy conversion

Perfect if you are given an Access file from someone who doesn't know how to save it in any other format, and you need to import the data into a program on a Mac. Once open for viewing, the data can be exported in a variety of formats.

Njwalrus

review for Version 2.0.4 from Mac App Store United States

Nov 27, 2012 ★★★★★

Would really like to modify

Great app. But warning: it's only a VIEWER. You can't MODIFY or INSERT data. I was hoping to edit Access files for a project for school. I was able to view it, which was great, but I could not do the assignment so I dropped $19 for nothing. Maybe you guys can make the update that will modify accdb files for Mac?

Ycontrol500

review for Version 2.0.4 from Mac App Store United States

Unfortunately modifying ACCDB files is very difficult to implement. Please contact Apple for a refund if MDB Viewer does not meet your expectations. – Jakob Egger

Oct 12, 2012 ★★★★★

Good !

It is work well. The speed is fast. And really easy to use that just drop MDB into it.
thanks!

Tangdaoyan

review for Version 2.0.4 from Mac App Store China

Oct 02, 2012 ★★★★★

Perfect for my needs.

Excellent software as well as quick and friendly customer support!

I purchased this with some hesitation due to the price. However the reviews were great so I took the plunge. In reality, the price is not bad for this type of software. MS Access was the last piece of software I needed to dump before I could lose Parallels and Windows on my iMac. I run R for statistical analysis and needed a Mac-friendly way to export MS Access files to CSV for import to R. This software is extremely fast and reliable for doing just that. The other exports work seamlessly as well. The CSV export allows you to export each table in your MDB separately (not currently all at once). The Excel export will give you one workbook with different sheets for each of the tables in your MDB. I havent messed with the other export options yet.

The only issue I had was not at all related to the software but the issues inherent in CSV files (quoted strings and commas in text fields), which caused my columns to be messed up on export to CSV. Again, this is not an issue with the software, just with my data and the CSV file type. I emailed Jakob to see what was up with this and he responded within a half an hour with a friendly and helpful response. For the time being, any tables I have that have quoted strings are getting exported to Excel, I remove the quotes with a find/replace, and save as CSV. I had to do this exporting directly from Access anyway, so it is still a huge time saver. Bye bye windows!

Lepromatous

review for Version 2.0.3 from Mac App Store United States

Aug 13, 2012 ★★★★★

So easy even I could use it

A client sent me an Access database file and since I don't have Access I could not open it. Found this app and decided to take a chance. It worked perfectly and easily. I was able to a) view the file using the viewer, and b) export it to Excel. In seconds. I'm not an Access user or dBase expert, but this app did what I wanted it to do.

Staceybai

review for Version 2.0.3 from Mac App Store United States

Aug 10, 2012 ★★★★★

Fantastic Utility

I've been one of likely many folks who have lamented the lack of a good Access DB conversion tool for mac. This is exactly what I've needed for the past year. Excellent app. Simple and straightforward. It's best feature is the ability to export to SQL or SQLlite. If I could give it 6 stars+ I would.

Josh Lehman

review for Version 2.0.3 from Mac App Store United States

Jul 26, 2012 ★★★★

E un pacco

Legge solo gli oggetti tabella all'interno del file .mdb
A cosa serve un file Access in cui non si possono eseguire query??
15 euro buttati.

Grrr...

review for Version 2.0.3 from Mac App Store Italy

Jul 16, 2012 ★★★★★

Fait ce qu'on attend de lui

J'avais une base Access d'un client dont je devais récupérer les contenus des tables pour import dans un autre outil. En moins d'une minute j'ai pu exporter (en format Excel en l'occurrence) la dizaine de tables sans problème.

Antoine Comiti

review for Version 2.0.3 from Mac App Store France

Jul 07, 2012 ★★★★★

Great app!

This is a great App. I got a 2GB Access DB, and this app was able to convert it to csv and SQLite without a problem and in few minutes. I strongly recommend it!!!

GvT76

review for Version 2.0.3 from Mac App Store Mexico

Jun 29, 2012 ★★★★★

Export options to SQL and SQLite makes this a must have

I had to open up an MDB file quickly so I purchased this with my fingers crossed. I was pleasantly surprised that it had options for exporting to SQL statements (with options for MySQL, PostgreSQL, and SQLite formats). And mostly for it's export to SQLite itself. Made my job a ton easier. This is a great, great find.

Garan

review for Version 2.0.3 from Mac App Store United States

Jun 27, 2012 ★★★★★

Hält was es verspricht

Super, ohne Microsoft Acces seine MDB Datenbank zu exportieren.

Leider werden Beziehungen / Custom Views nicht dargestellt. Aber wurde ja auch nicht versprochen in der App Beschreibung.
Eventuell lässt sich das ja noch nachliefern, aber ich weiss halt nicht ob das überhaupt möglich ist seitens des Fileformats.

Philippe Regenass

review for Version 2.0.3 from Mac App Store Switzerland

Jun 14, 2012 ★★★★★

Parfait

Rapide, simple et efficace, répond parfaitement à mon besoin, transformer des bases Access en MySQL.

Erik Calop

review for Version 2.0.3 from Mac App Store France

Jun 13, 2012 ★★★★★

Ein optimales Werkzeug!

Das ist DAS Tool zum Betrachten und extrahieren von Daten aus einer MdB-Datei. Habe den Kauf keine Sekunde bereut.

Auch der Support ist spitze! Hatte ein Problem mit einer sehr grossen und alten MdB-Datei, die einfach nicht öffnen wollte. Innerhalb weniger Stunden hatte ich einen Patch direkt vom Entwickler. Wenn nur alle so wären!

Theremingenieur

review for Version 2.0.2 from Mac App Store France

May 31, 2012 ★★★★★

Exactly what I needed

Perfect. This is the tool i've been looking for since the last 2 years. Does exactly what I need it for.
Thanks.

Tijz

review for Version 2.0.2 from Mac App Store Belgium

May 24, 2012 ★★★★★

Superb product

I was a bit sceptical at first, but purchased the app to convert an ACCDB database to SQLite - and it worked - perfectly!

I was able to transfer all the old Access data to SQLite in one go, then used Base (menial.co.uk) to alter the tables (we prefer "ID" rather than "TablenameID"), add extra fields and build a new app (RealStudio) in no time at all.

Well done Jakob - this is a great app and has saved a *lot* of work.

XMGx

review for Version 2.0.2 from Mac App Store New Zealand

Apr 28, 2012 ★★★★★

Great application!

It works like a charm! Very easy to you and plenty of export options!

Centurypixel

review for Version 2.0.2 from Mac App Store United States

Apr 27, 2012 ★★★★★

Opens files, but some bugs

Great if you don't have access to Microsoft Access and only have a Mac. Can very quickly display the contents of the database in full. However, sifting through the data can be daunting as the find functionality (Command-F) seems to be broken (i.e. can't find all rows with column_value = 10).

JumpinJavaNinja

review for Version 2.0.2 from Mac App Store United States

Apr 26, 2012 ★★★★

Cannot view queries or reports

I thought that the viewer would allow viewing of all Access items within the database - sadly seems to be viewing Tables and exporting to enable search functions only.

Ricgeorgester

review for Version 2.0.2 from Mac App Store United Kingdom

Mar 31, 2012 ★★★★

Inutile.

Proposer une version à ce prix là qui n'est pas en mesure de lire des fichiers access qui ont moins de 5 ans !!! Et bien c'est du vol : "Encrypted Access 2007 or 2010 databases are not supported."
Je ne m'étais même pas posé la question tellement ça me semblait être une évidence.

David LELERRE

review for Version 2.0.2 from Mac App Store France

I tried my best to document the supported file types on this website. If my program doesn't do what you expected, please contact Apple for a refund. – Jakob Egger

Mar 24, 2012 ★★★★★

Great

Great application with amazing support from the developer jakob. If you need anything to do with microsoft databases, this is what you want.

Darayus Nanavati

review for Version 2.0.2 from Mac App Store Australia

Mar 15, 2012 ★★★★★

Back to 5 Stars!

Update to v2.0.2 - back to 5 Starts. Bugs fixed. Works well. Thanks for the updates.

Update to v2.0.1 - seems a bit better. The verdict is still out if it will actually do a correct extract = answer = no, it crashes. Still an essential App on the Mac if you need to import legacy Windows databases. Since everyone is ditching Windows these days... there's work to be done :)

Update to v2.0 - very bad. Wrecked a great app. Files it used to open perfectly now say that there are errors in them. I TimeMachined back to the old version and I'm continuing to use that.

(v1.0.4) Thank you for a great application. Perfectly imports Access DBs (MDB file format) straight out to MySQL (other formats too). 600k records no problem to a 400MB SQL file. Perfectly imported into MySQL for further work turning into a much more efficeint 100MB table.

Aled Brown

review for Version 2.0.2 from Mac App Store United Kingdom

Mar 11, 2012 ★★★★★

Works excellent!

My marketing agency does a lot of work converting folks from antiquated web systems and this app has come in so handy in the past 6 months! Now with the new export features its even better.

Daniel Schutzsmith

review for Version 2.0.0 from Mac App Store United States

Mar 08, 2012 ★★★★★

Made an already amazing app even better!

My firm does a lot of data conversion. Having this on my Mac makes the process that much smoother. While my PC is getting dusty, they guys added more export options and made the app better at loading large data sets! What's coming next? I can't even imagine. Thanks!

Barry Schwartz

review for Version 2.0.0 from Mac App Store United States

Thanks, but I'm just one guy. – Jakob Egger

Mar 08, 2012 ★★★★★

Very useful app

Does the job very well. Excellent speed on large db's >1g...! Also great support.

Z From Calgary

review for Version 2.0.0 from Mac App Store Canada

Mar 08, 2012 ★★★★★

This app maks me not need windows on my mac - THANK YOU!

Been using this app since it came out on the app store. It is so awesome, and a productivity lift. Access was the final application that I needed to run on a day to day to export into excel, but with this app having windows on my mac is not reuired. Saves me 200$ plus the cost of a windows professional office suite (300$)!!! Thanks for the update

Mcgortyb

review for Version 2.0.0 from Mac App Store United States

Mar 08, 2012 ★★★★★

Great update!

Search function and detail window! Just what i wanted, its like Christmas :-)

Yavva

review for Version 2.0.0 from Mac App Store Netherlands

Feb 26, 2012 ★★★★

It's a viewer

While I wish this application had more features, it does allow me to view all of my Access database files, so I'm happy about that. The ability to export is a big plus.

ZJ_1997

review for Version 1.0.4 from Mac App Store United States

Feb 24, 2012 ★★★★★

Ok but...

I need to be able to use Access 2010.

i cannot keep 2 versions for this app.

David Stout

review for Version 1.0.4 from Mac App Store Australia

Feb 08, 2012 ★★★★

Solved my problem almost perfectly

I found this when given an Access DB to analyze for porting to mysql. It works as advertised. I'd give it 4.5 stars- the only missing feature is a relationships map. Nothing fancy necessary, but a simple screen that shows table relationships would be the extra .5 star. Thanks for a useful app!

Avastjustin

review for Version 1.0.4 from Mac App Store United States

Feb 08, 2012 ★★★★★

Great app!

It's easy!It's great! I Just opened the .mdb and I got my Microsoft Access database in seconds!

Alemarf

review for Version 1.0.4 from Mac App Store Brazil

Feb 07, 2012 ★★★★★

Good encoding and export support

Works well with the hungarian character encoding I had, exports to MySQL, SQLite or Postgres, that's all I needed.

Zoltan NS

review for Version 1.0.4 from Mac App Store Hungary

Feb 04, 2012 ★★★★★

Bull's eye!

This tool works exactly as announced. It saved me the effort to implement a database connection through JDBC/ODBC, so it was worth every cent.

It would be great to have
- Oracle export formats,
- and a CLI interface (for example: MDBViewer --input x.mdb --action export --output x.sql --format oracle)

And another idea is to add direct import functionality to other databases - at extra charge, of course. Jacob, if you need help here, you can contact me at thomas.gutzmann at gutzmann.se.

Thank you very much,

Thomas

Thomas Gutzmann

review for Version 1.0.4 from Mac App Store Germany

Jan 18, 2012 ★★★★

On ne peaut lire que les tables

Aucun intérêt

Je me suis fais rouler

Kal49

review for Version 1.0.4 from Mac App Store France

Jan 13, 2012 ★★★★★

Rapidissimo

Mi ha aperto in un attimo i file di Access sul Mac, ora penso di convertirli in SQL per metterli sul server

Francesco Mantovani

review for Version 1.0.4 from Mac App Store Italy

Jan 08, 2012 ★★★★★

Perfection!!!!!

All I needed to do is import four tables into mysql… well worth the investment… better than two days work!

Davedup

review for Version 1.0.4 from Mac App Store United Kingdom

Jan 06, 2012 ★★★★★

Does what it says and does it well!

I searched and searched on the search engines for a way to be able to read and convert an ".mdb" file to a CSV for a project that I was working on. Nothing but stuff for Windows and many posts for "impossible", obscure antiquated things like a coomplicated setting up of ODCB etc….

Then realized the contextual menu for open with… search Mac App store and found this…

Worked perfectly, can read everything, see everything and export everything. Nice clean interface, intuitive and does exactly what it says it will do! Very happy!!!

Mike-N-Tosh

review for Version 1.0.4 from Mac App Store United States

Jan 02, 2012 ★★★★★

MDB Viewer 1.0.4 per Mac

This simple wonderful app was able to open my password protected access database with no problems. Finally I got rid of my emulated Windows PC!
The developer was also very responsive to my questions.
Recommended if you have to migrate your data from access to elsewhere.

Questa semplice e meravigliosa applicazione ha aperto il mio database (protetto da password) di access senza problemi. Lo sviluppatore è stato molto cordiale e veloce nel rispondere alle mie domande.
Applicazione decisamente raccomandata se avete necessità di esportare i vostri dati access per usarli con altri database.

Mario Leone

review for Version 1.0.4 from Mac App Store Italy

Dec 30, 2011 ★★★★★

Very helpful!

I was about to write my own custom MDB converter, and was therefore very happy to find the developer's link to this solution at the macworld forums. I certainly couldn't write my own translator for $5.99! Thanks for saving me a lot of time and effort with this app. I installed the software, started it up, located my MDB file, and MDB Viewer quickly opened the database. I then converted it to CSV and I was on my way. The whole process took less than two minutes.

Two feature suggestions:

1. Improve auto-sizing of columns. Some columns seemed to auto-size for me, but others didn't. My state column, for example, was twice as wide as its label (STATE_PROVINCE), though no value in that column was nearly as wide as the label.
2. Allow dropping of files from the Finder into the application's initial window. One can drop MDB files onto the application's icon, but the initial app window leads the user to intuitively drag and drop into it. After clicking Open Other…, a user can drop their file into the Open dialog, but most users don't know this, it requires extra clicks, and again, it isn't intuitive.

Absence of these minor conveniences aside, great app, and great value. Thank you!

Davedowling.com

review for Version 1.0.4 from Mac App Store United States

Dec 21, 2011 ★★★★★

Nice!

Allows you to view and export (sql, csv) the db's tables- not more, not less. Consequently exactly what one needs to access and migrate data. Simple to use, stable, fast, and good value for money considering the time for internet search, VM and other workarounds spent otherwise- excellent app!

Mac'i_review

review for Version 1.0.4 from Mac App Store Australia

Dec 17, 2011 ★★★★★

Works great you can export any table you want

Ollierace

review for Version 1.0.4 from Mac App Store United States

Dec 05, 2011 ★★★★★

Great App

This is a great app. Simple easy to use amd i havent found one on the internet like it. i do find it unfortunate that is only a viewer and you can't filter but it does allow you to export files to a csv file which can be open with excel and then filter. a great app.

Johnnyrainbow

review for Version 1.0.4 from Mac App Store Australia

Dec 05, 2011 ★★★★★

Ottima

Minimale, ottima per chi deve fare una cosa molto semplice: esportare da MDB a SQL.

Ha gestito perfettamente una esportazione corposa (100 mega) senza dare alcun problema ne in export ne nel successivo import, dove invece altre applicazioni avevano fallito.

Andrea Morandini

review for Version 1.0.4 from Mac App Store Italy

Dec 01, 2011 ★★★★★

Lifesaver!

Great app. I needed to open an old Access DB and export the data into CSV format. App worked as advertised!

DeniedLates

review for Version 1.0.4 from Mac App Store United States

Nov 30, 2011 ★★★★

Excellente application, quelques améliorations possibles...

Fait ce qu'on lui demande de faire, y compris sur des bases volumineuses.
Gère bien les encodages, et même les retours chariots à l'intérieur des champs.

Idéalement, on pourrait voir afficher le nombre de ligne par table dans le volet de gauche, à coté du nom de la table, et on aimerait plus de lattitude dans les choix de séparateur de champs des exports CSV.

Application à recommander !

Etpas

review for Version 1.0.4 from Mac App Store France

Nov 15, 2011 ★★★★

Does the basics

This is a basic viewer for Microsoft Access .MDB tables. It allows you to view and export the tables to SQL and CSV.

When viewing the data, you can resize the fields and sort by column heads. As noted in the description, you don't get access to the queries, forms or reports.

A schema display would be awesome and jump the value of this app all the way up to $12.38 in my books. Also, it would be nice to have the number of records display along the bottom of the screen.

Overall, worth the six bucks to get access to Access files on a Mac.

Doug Alder

review for Version 1.0.4 from Mac App Store Canada

Nov 07, 2011 ★★★★★

Fantastic!

Thank you for a great application. Perfectly imports Access DBs (MDB file format) straight out to MySQL (other formats too). 600k records no problem to a 400MB SQL file. Perfectly imported into MySQL for further work turning into a much more efficeint 100MB table.

Aled Brown

review for Version 1.0.4 from Mac App Store United Kingdom

Nov 04, 2011 ★★★★

Worked very well for me

Until now, I had been firing up my PC VM to get Access data. This worked first time and was very quick. My only request is to allow exporting all tables as csv in one step rather than individually (you can do export all to SQL, so why not CSV? Maybe I'm missing something).
Nice little utility.

Rob Russel

review for Version 1.0.4 from Mac App Store New Zealand

Oct 31, 2011 ★★★★★

Excellent produit

- permet de transférer des bases de données MS Access vers MySQL (ou CSV et PostgreSQL, jamais essayés pour ma part) en créant une requête SQL utilisable, par exemple, avec Sequel Pro
- fonctionne avec des bases volumineuses (1 Go)
- une machine puissante avec beaucoup de RAM m'a permis de rédiure considérablement les temps de traitement (pour 500 Mo : iMac 2.8 Core 2 Duo & 4 Go de RAM - environ 3/4 heures / iMac 3.4 Core i7 & 16 Go de RAM - environ 15/20 mn)
- il n'est pas possible d'éditer les données directement depuis ce logiciel (si quelqu'un connaît un solution sur OS X, merci de l'indiquer)
- la version précédente posait quelques soucis (formats dates et noms des champs avec des espaces) ceci est désormais réglé

Pascal Granger

review for Version 1.0.4 from Mac App Store France

Oct 13, 2011 ★★★★

Read access?

It is SUPOSSED TO READ access but it really DO NOT OPEN IT!! it is really a really poor program: i have an access db and first i have to put it in 2003 format, then, it does not read the forms, the querys or the reports: so you have a great program that just read the tables like a msdos program.
Sincerelly, i do not recomend it

Manolito90

review for Version 1.0.4 from Mac App Store United States

Oct 12, 2011 ★★★★★

Unica!

Finalmente ho trovato una App in grado di leggere i file mdb creati con Access senza complicazioni. E' progettata in modo semplice e consente di posizionare a piacimento le varie colonne dati semplicemente trascinandole! Forte davvero. Bravissimo il programmatore. Soldi ben spesi.

Drms

review for Version 1.0.4 from Mac App Store Italy

Oct 07, 2011 ★★★★★

Funktioniert problemlos

Dass man nix editieren kann, ist ok für den Preis, aber eine Suchfunktion wäre trotzdem nicht schlecht, please update, sonst nix zu meckern

Ripho

review for Version 1.0.4 from Mac App Store Germany

Sep 22, 2011 ★★★★★

Doubt about functionality

Tried several .mdb files, but the viewer always stated they were 'damaged' while the work perfect in access.
Each time I tried to export a table with no content (only headers) it crashed.

A good start but it needs improvement.

Kinetic One

review for Version 1.0.4 from Mac App Store Belgium

Maybe the files are from Access 2.0 (which is not supported). Try converting the DB with Access. Sorry for the misleading warnings. – Jakob Egger

Sep 14, 2011 ★★★★★

Works!!!

This application works perfectly. not like other poor migrators.

Dante ING

review for Version 1.0.4 from Mac App Store United States

Sep 07, 2011 ★★★★★

Perfetta

Ottima applicazione, funziona e fa esattamente quello che dice. Permette di aprire file MDB e salvarli in altri formati.
Chi dice soldi buttati non ha capito a cosa serve… E si merita di perderci i soldi :)

Io l'ho usata per aprire CAP Professional che Poste Italiane scandalosamente distribuisce in un formato proprietario e monopiattaforma (MDB appunto) e ho migrato il tutto su MySQL il 2 minuti!

Wlf

review for Version 1.0.4 from Mac App Store Italy

Jul 28, 2011 ★★★★

Fà quello che deve fare :-)

Avevo bisogno di un SW per aprire i file di Access e va benissimo!

Alessio Barbieri

review for Version 1.0.4 from Mac App Store Italy

Jul 28, 2011 ★★★★★

Nice utility for MS-Access to MySQL Migration on a Mac

I have to compliment this great utility. Also when I had a specific data issue the author was very supportive and assisted us over a few days. Developers like this are great. Thank you Jakob.

Education Systems IT Services

review for Version 1.0.4 from Mac App Store Australia

Jul 22, 2011 ★★★★★

MDB-Viewer

Habe die aktuelle Versionen jetzt seit einiger Zeit in Benutzung um Access-Datenbanken in SQLite umzuwandeln. Das Programm ist für (genau) diesen Zweck super geeignet. Bei einem kürzlich aufgetretenen Problem habe ich auf meine Support-Anfrage innerhalb von 2h eine Lösung bekommen. Das ist absolute Weltklasse. Ich kann das Programm daher Anwendern, die genau die oben beschriebene Aufgabe lösen wollen nur absolut empfehlen, das Geld ist hier gut angelegt.

Gbakrikkit

review for Version 1.0.4 from Mac App Store Germany

Jul 19, 2011 ★★★★★

Fa esattamente quello che dice di fare. Da MDB a SQL

Non capisco chi lascia commenti inutilmente distruttivi. Avevo bisogno di un software che mi trasformasse i file MDB in file MySQL e che fosse per Mac. Dopo aver letto le caratteristiche del programma, ho voluto sfidare il commento negativo perché l'ho trovato superficiale. MDB Viewer ha aperto il file MDB e mi ha permesso di esportare le tabelle (tutte o a scelta) in un file SQL (disponibile anche il CSV), nel formato MySQL (disponibili anche PostgreSQL e SQLite). E' stato facile poi eseguire il file sql in MySQL: struttura e contenuti.
Serebbe utile che il programma permettesse di apportare delle modifiche al file MDB, almeno ai nomi delle tabelle, ma del resto... si chiama "MDB Viewer".

Alexneg66

review for Version 1.0.4 from Mac App Store Italy

Jul 06, 2011 ★★★★★

Excellent

Excellent, did exactly what I needed it to do. Read my .mdb file perfectly, exported it as SQL without any problems. Well worth £3.50.

Chrisgibson

review for Version 1.0.4 from Mac App Store United Kingdom

Jun 22, 2011 ★★★★

Dont work

My database size is 1.5Gb. That app cant open it! Give me back my money!

TOVARIW

review for Version 1.0.4 from Mac App Store Russia

Please contact Apple for refunds, and contact me if the app doesn't work. I can't respond to app store reviews. – Jakob Egger

Jun 20, 2011 ★★★★★

Peter Smith

Great bit of software. I usually have Access in a seperate partition in Windows on my Mac but now I can read it via Drop Box. Do you have plans to be able to amend files using this sofdtware. A great start!

Arfpete

review for Version 1.0.4 from Mac App Store United Kingdom

Jun 18, 2011 ★★★★

MD Viewer

Just loaded this software - it seems to work fine and reads my Microsoft Access 2003 files - I searched for other options of being able to read Acceess files on the Mac but the options looked limited. It is only a read file ie you cant manipulate the files - I have now copied them into an Excel file on Mac.

Gug8

review for Version 1.0.4 from Mac App Store United Kingdom

Jun 15, 2011 ★★★★

Works great!

Works great! Very clean, very simple, it just works. Only thing i'm missing is a search function and a detailed view of the row you selected. That would make it five stars for me.

C. Mol

review for Version 1.0.4 from Mac App Store Netherlands

Jun 15, 2011 ★★★★★

Ein Satz mit X

Ich wollte eine Adressdatenbank unseres Servers in meinen iMac integrieren, zumindest "sehen".. jetzt sehe ich zwar unheimlich viele Daten (aufgrund der Datenbankgröße) aber man kann wirklich rein gar nichts verändern, umstellen, auswählen.. die Übersicht für meine gewollten Zwecke sind leider überhaupt nicht erfüllt worden... naja.. 5 Euro.. die hat man sicherlich schon mal irgendwo zu viel ausgegeben, so auch hier.. schade..
( Warum gibt es keine Art Rückgaberecht? )

Ronny Könnemann

review for Version 1.0.4 from Mac App Store Germany

Jun 13, 2011 ★★★★

Ma cosa dovrei farmene?

Da non acquistare... Non serve assolutamente a nulla!!! Soldi Persi!!!

Super.mel

review for Version 1.0.4 from Mac App Store Italy

Jun 04, 2011 ★★★★★

Perfect for viewing an MDB

This is great for viewing an MDB file, but you don't get much else. You can look at tables, that's it. No edit, no querying, nada. For $5.99 it's a great deal. MS Access was overkill for my needs anyway - glad I didn't have to install it on a VM. You do get exporting to a CSV - so if you need to, you can export to CSV and open it in MS Excel 2011 to do some heavier work no problem.

Vcsjones

review for Version 1.0.4 from Mac App Store United States

May 27, 2011 ★★★★

Great MDB viewer for Mac OS X, but lacks fundamental features

MDB Viewer for OS X is a great application to view Microsoft Access database. The SQL/CSV dump is a unique feature that even Windows-native MDB viewing programs fail to implement. While lacking direct editing / saving of MDBs, the lack of the ability to view table schemas and print schemas is a big disappointment. I feel that it is a fundamental feature which should be integral in any database viewing or manipulation apps. At its price, it is a very solid app and worth every penny.

Steve Khou

review for Version 1.0.4 from Mac App Store United States

Aug 06, 2011 ★★★★

MDB Viewer

Do what it says. it's ok.


review for Version 1.0.3 from Mac App Store Spain

May 17, 2011 ★★★★★

Exactly what I needed.

My needs were very simple. I just needed to dump a table into a format I could open in Excel or a text editor. 30 seconds after purchasing this app I had a usable CSV file.

Ray Hatfield

review for Version 1.0.3 from Mac App Store United States

May 11, 2011 ★★★★★

Great tool

Does just what it needs to do, and does it well.

Hal Mueller

review for Version 1.0.3 from Mac App Store United States

May 04, 2011 ★★★★★

Einfach und Genial

Ist genau das was ich schon lange gesucht hatte. Funktioniert tipptopp.

Knödi

review for Version 1.0.3 from Mac App Store Switzerland

Apr 29, 2011 ★★★★★

Very practical.

Saved me a lot of time (& money as a result). Simple, easy to use.

*paul1984

review for Version 1.0.3 from Mac App Store United States

Apr 27, 2011 ★★★★

Worked great on an unknown file version

Great app that worked for a export to .csv of a .mdb file of unknown version. Easy to use - it would be nice to have a cheaper version for users who only need .csv export - might help those who only need to do 1 or 2 files to a simple export buy it.

Thanks for making the app!

Tony D

review for Version 1.0.3 from Mac App Store Canada

Apr 21, 2011 ★★★★★

Does what it says on the package

Simple, efficient, does what it says on the package.

I needed to access a database in Access 2003 for a client's website and convert it into MySQL. It did the trick in a bliss. The interface is simple and does not provide useless widgets. Maybe the disclaimer about the fact that the database can't be modified and that only MDB files (not the newer .accdb) are supported should be easier to see since some users might get confused. The price is just right.

Julien Bourdon

review for Version 1.0.3 from Mac App Store Japan

As you suggested, I made the note on the website more readable. – Jakob Egger

Apr 09, 2011 ★★★★★

Great, works beautifully at reading and exporting MS Access data

I needed to get data out of a 240MB Access database. This app made it ridiculously easy to export as SQL or CSV which I could then load into MySQL. It saved me hours of faffing around, well worth the money if you need to view MS Access databases on Mac OSX

Sam Rodgers

review for Version 1.0.3 from Mac App Store United Kingdom

Apr 03, 2011 ★★★★★

Bra!

Gör vad den ska: visar Accessdatabasfiler.
Vore ännu bättre: Om den kunde ändra i filerna.

Anders Bergström

review for Version 1.0.3 from Mac App Store Sweden

Mar 24, 2011 ★★★★★

Does as advertised, and does it well.

I've used several Access converters before, some CLI and some GUI, and while others have more bells & whistles, they also would crash or be unable to extract data from certain Access db's due to unusual table structures, large size, etc. MDB viewer flawlessly handled all of them - over 100 Access dbs, each with 100,000+ records and file sizes in the hundreds of MBs, and exported them as SQLite compatible SQL; on a high-end 2008 Mac Pro, it took under 9 minutes to generate 2.78 GB of SQL from a 700 MB Access db.

One wish - make it Applescriptable so I can automate it the next time I have to do work like this! :-)

Nff22d7

review for Version 1.0.2 from Mac App Store United States

Mar 24, 2011 ★★★★★

Great app.

I agree with the last review. I couldn't find anything else online that could do this and Viola! perfect. It's simple, yet effective. Thanks.

Eunoibella

review for Version 1.0.2 from Mac App Store Australia

Mar 19, 2011 ★★★★★

Great App

It's just perfect. I have open all the MDBs with success!

David Ruiz

review for Version 1.0.2 from Mac App Store Brazil

Mar 09, 2011 ★★★★★

Worked exactly as it should

Had an issue converting client's little mdb file to MySQL, and boom, done, hours saved! Thanks so much Jakob. Worked exactly as it should.

B.robot

review for Version 1.0.1 from Mac App Store United States

Mar 06, 2011 ★★★★★

Nice tool - Watch out for Date Conversion

I used this tool to convert a Access 2003 table set, and it works fairly well, The dates did not convert well, a date like "03/10/06" come through as June 10, 2003 (in mysql) instead of March 10, 2006, I am not sure if this issue is an issue with MDB Viewer, Or with Microsoft!

Iewebguy

review for Version 1.0.1 from Mac App Store United States

This issue has been resolved in version 1.0.2 – Jakob Egger

Mar 02, 2011 ★★★★★

Simpel, stabil und gut dokumentiert

Die App ist wie ein Mac Programm sein sollte: übersichtlich und kinderleicht zu bedienen. Sie bietet einen Überblick über die Daten, die Exportfunktionen sind ebenso mächtig wie einfach anzuwenden. Per SQL-Export lassen sich ganze Datenbanken nach MySQL, PostgreSql oder SQLite migrieren, der CSV-Export einzelner Tabellen für die wichtigsten Mac Applikationen (Numbers, Filemaker Pro etc.) ist gut dokumentiert und gelingt auf Anhieb – schnell und zuverlässig.

K. Schaller

review for Version 1.0.1 from Mac App Store Austria

Feb 28, 2011 ★★★★★

Great application...a must have.

This great app save my day. Now I can open access files on Mac without emulator and export them to csv or sql. The app is also rock solid it opens 1 GB database and save it as csv or sql.
Thanks to the developer.

Alsvieira

review for Version 1.0.1 from Mac App Store Portugal

Feb 28, 2011 ★★★★★

Worked as described

I was able to successfully export a MDB file to an SQL dump, then import my SQL dump into my MySQL database without a problem.

Ian Hall

review for Version 1.0.1 from Mac App Store Canada

Feb 24, 2011 ★★★★★

What it says on the can

At last I can look at some Access databases from a while ago!

Mjcx

review for Version 1.0 from Mac App Store United States

Feb 23, 2011 ★★★★★

Excellent Utility!

I have a user send me an access file monthly, before this utility, I was stuck having to go into Access in Parrallels just to export this data to a mac friendly format so I could combine this with data downloaded from their mainframe to run reports. No more, now I just use this wonderful utility to open the file from mail and export the data. It is really a gigantic time saver, no waiting on Parrallels to start, then waiting for access to start.

Open email attachment in MDB Viewer, export and GO!!!!

Gcbright

review for Version 1.0 from Mac App Store United States

Feb 21, 2011 ★★★★★

Lifesaver and a time saver

Before discovering this program I waste an amazing amount of time trying to read an old Access database. The usual Microsoft nightmare. An older version of Access wouldn't install on my Win7 virtual machine, etc. etc. etc.

Anyway, this app works as advertized. A bargain at $5.

Kirk Biglione

review for Version 1.0 from Mac App Store United States

Feb 19, 2011 ★★★★

Recogidas de datos

No se pueden recoger datos, se ve totalmente diferente que en las tablas de recogida de datos de microsoft... si lo que quieres es una aplicacion para recoger datos no aconsejo esta...

Mina & Mina

review for Version 1.0 from Mac App Store Spain

Feb 16, 2011 ★★★★★

What a great little app

This is so simple but so fit for purpose. So quick and easy to get data from Access to MySQL - would have saved me several hours of wasted time over the last week and I'm sure it will save me much more in the future.

David Wilkins

review for Version 1.0 from Mac App Store Australia

Feb 15, 2011 ★★★★★

Works very well

Installed the app and very quickly exported several Access mdb data files to Postgresql. Simple, Fast and works.

Webfred

review for Version 1.0 from Mac App Store United States

Feb 15, 2011 ★★★★★

Fills a HUGE need

I have hated going to my Windows friends and begging them to print out Access files or convert them to Excel for me. At last I don't need to. This app does what it claims and does it well.

Hhill1

review for Version 1.0 from Mac App Store United States

Feb 15, 2011 ★★★★★

Go ahead!

Quite good but needs improvements. why can't I see every fields on my document? I would pay more if the conversion were complete. back and forth thru MAC/WIN is very annoying, especially for just one app! waiting for next release

Duccio Brunetti

review for Version 1.0 from Mac App Store Italy

Feb 11, 2011 ★★★★★

Excellent utility

Works exactly as described. Excellent tool for those who need to work with MS Access in OS X.

Paige Adams

review for Version 1.0 from Mac App Store United States

Feb 11, 2011 ★★★★★

Excellent and very useful app

An excellent and very useful tool for anyone involved in data migration work. I've just tested it on several MDBs and the program worked flawlessly. In many ways this is much faster and simpler than using the Actual ODBC drivers for Access, although of course those do support ACCDB. If ACCDB support could be added at some future date to MDB Viewer, this app would be perfect for my needs.

The inclusion of export options to popular database formats is also a very welcome feature as I use MySQL pretty much every day.

At this price, it's a steal. :)

Sparrowhawk

review for Version 1.0 from Mac App Store United Kingdom

Questions? Contact Jakob Egger or read the docs.